Healthplan Spain


Airplane landing runway Spain Maintains Entry Restrictions For All EU And Schengen Area Countries Spain News

Spain’s Ministry of Health announced on Thursday that it would continue to restrict access to the country from all EU and Schengen area countries in light of the surge in Omicron cases.

In the update to their official website, the ministry said that the amended ‘risk’ and ‘high-risk’ list would come into force from midnight on January 6 and run until at least 23:59 on January 16.

It means that any travellers who reach Spain from EU and Schengen Area countries will need to continue to follow certain entry rules in order to be permitted entry into the country.

The list of EU and Schengen Area countries that Spain classes as at the ‘risk’ level will continue to be treated as such until January 16 includes Austria, Belgium, Croatia, Cyprus, Czechia, Bulgaria, Denmark, Estonia, Finland, France, Greece, Hungary, Iceland, Ireland, Italy, Latvia, Liechtenstein, Germany, Lithuania, Luxembourg, Malta, Norway, Poland, Portugal, Slovakia, Slovenia, Sweden, and the Netherlands.

Spain will also apply the same restrictions to ‘third country’ nationals including the United Kingdom, however, there are exceptions for the following countries - Argentina, New Zealand, Australia, Peru, Bahrain, Qatar, Canada, Rwanda, Chile, Saudi Arabia, China, South Korea, Colombia, United Arab Emirates, Indonesia, Uruguay and Kuwait.

Under the current restrictions, all travellers who have been fully vaccinated or who have recovered from COVID-19 can travel to Spain without having to follow any additional rules, even if their country is on the high-risk list.

In a statement, the Ministry said, “All those passengers from a country/area that has a SARS-CoV-2 coronavirus risk must present, a certificate or document certifying vaccination against COVID-19 or a negative certificate of a Diagnostic Test of Active Infection or a certificate of Recovery after having passed this disease in order to enter Spain.

All passengers travelling to Spain including those under the age of 12 must continue to complete a Health Control Form regardless of their nationality.

The Ministry also took the opportunity to remind travellers that a number of countries will remain on the ‘high-risk’ list due to high levels of Covid infections. This includes Botswana Eswatini/Swaziland, Lesotho, Malawi, Mozambique, Namibia, South Africa, Zambia and Zimbabwe.

Passengers from a high-risk country/territory will simultaneously require a vaccination or recovery certificate and, in addition, a SARS-CoV-2 diagnostic test certificate with a negative result.

The full and current official list of risk and high-risk countries can be found here.